At VIFreepBreaking NewsGovernment House NewsSt. Croix NewsSt. John NewsSt. Thomas NewsV.I. Legislature

Bryan’s Cabinet Starting To Take Shape, Rules Chair Senator Barnes Says

CHRISTIANSTED – Senator Alicia Barnes said that she is pleased to announce that the 33rd Legislature’s Committee on Rules and Judiciary is in receipt of the names of the nominees from the Office of the Governor.

So far Barnes said she has received candidate names for: Commissioner of Education, Commissioner of Tourism, Commissioner of Finance, Commissioner of Health, Director of the Bureau of Internal Revenue, Director of the Bureau of Motor Vehicles, Commissioner of Labor, Commissioner of Agriculture, Commissioner of Planning and Natural Resources, Commissioner of Public Works, and Commissioner of Property and Procurement.

“As this matter is now before the Committee on Rules and Judiciary, each nominee will be required to complete a detailed questionnaire and be subject to a background investigation to begin the confirmation process,” Barnes said.

Upon favorable completion of both the questionnaire and background check, confirmation hearings will be scheduled.

Barnes said that while it is within Bryan’s authority to nominate persons whom he wishes to serve in his cabinet, the Legislature, as a separate and co-equal branch of government, is mandated to evaluate each nominee based on qualifications and suitability for the position in which they have been nominated to serve.

Here is a list of the cabinet-level positions that have been submitted by Bryan to Barnes.

Racquel Berry-Benjamin – Commissioner of Education

Joseph Boschulte- Commissioner of Tourism

Kirk Callwood Sr. – Commissioner of Finance

Justa Encarnacion – Commissioner of Health

Joel Lee – Director of the Bureau of Internal Revenue

Barbara Jackson McIntosh – Director of the Bureau of Motor Vehicles

Gary Molloy – Commissioner of Labor

Positive T.A. Nelson – Commissioner of Agriculture

Jean – Pierre Oriol – Commissioner of the Department of Planning and Natural Resources

Nelson Petty Jr. – Commissioner of Public Works

Anthony Thomas – Commissioner of Property and Procurement

The freshman senator said she “congratulates the nominees and looks forward to conducting a comprehensive, transparent, and expeditious confirmation process.”

Property and Procurement Commissioner nominee Anthony Thomas of St. Thomas
Previous post

Former Prison Guard Gets Six Months Home Confinement For Selling Drugs At Golden Grove

Next post

Former Executive Director of VIHFA Williams Gets Hired By Governor Bryan

The Author

John McCarthy

John McCarthy

John McCarthy is primarily known for his investigative reporting on the U.S. Virgin Islands. A series of reports beginning in the 1990's revealed that there was everything from coliform bacteria to Cryptosporidium in locally-bottled St. Croix drinking water, according to a then-unpublished University of the Virgin Islands sampling. Another report, following Hurricane Hugo in 1989, cited a Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) confidential overview that said that over 40 percent of the U.S. Virgin Islands public lives below the poverty line. The Virgin Islands Free Press is the only Caribbean news source to regularly incorporate the findings of U.S. Freedom of Information Act requests. John's articles have appeared in the BVI Beacon, St. Croix Avis, San Juan Star and Virgin Islands Daily News. He is the former news director of WSVI-TV Channel 8 on St. Croix.

No Comment

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *