Tag: 33rd Legislature of the Virgin Islands

Senator Barnes Thanks Gov. Bryan For Extending Mental Health State of Emergency

CHRISTIANSTED – St. Croix Senator Alicia Barnes issued the following statement commending Governor Albert Bryan, Jr. for Executive Order No. 486-2019 issued on Tuesday. The executive order extended the mental health state of emergency in the U.S. Virgin Islands due to a shortage of psychiatric physicians and behavioral health providers. “I commend the Governor on his recent […]

Senator Blyden Suggests People Celebrate Black History All Year Round

CHARLOTTE AMALIE – Senator Marvin Blyden said he will join millions of people of African descent around the world in celebrating Black History Month during the month of February. Black History Month begins today February 1. Blyden urged Virgin Islanders to celebrate and study Black History and the historical and cultural impact of black people […]

Senators Weigh In On Gov. Bryan’s First State of Territory Address

CHARLOTTE AMALIE — The Senate has gone on the record about Governor Albert Bryan Jr.’s State of the Territory Address on Monday. Bryan in general was praised by senators for his message of hopefulness. Still, the governor declared that the state of the territory was one of “distress.”  Bryan said his team have been analyzing […]

Marvin Blyden Voted Best Senator In St. Thomas By Newspaper’s Readers

CHARLOTTE AMALIE – Senate Majority Leader Senator Marvin Blyden expressed his gratitude and appreciation today to the people of the Virgin Islands who have selected him as the “Best Senator of the Virgin Islands on St. Thomas/St. John 2018-2019” in the V.I. Daily News “Best of the V.I.” Readership Poll. “I am a son of the soil; […]

33rd Legislature’s Majority Announces Hierarchy of Incoming Senate Members

CHRISTIANSTED – “Restoring Unity and Trust Through Vision and Purpose” is the motto and the mission of the 33rd Virgin Islands Legislature’s newly formed 11-member Democratic Majority Caucus, Senators and Senators-elect said today. The new Majority Caucus has selected St. Croix Senator-elect Kenneth L. Gittens as its President and St. Thomas incumbent Marvin Blyden as Majority […]