At VIFreepBreaking NewsGovernment House NewsSt. Croix NewsSt. John NewsSt. Thomas NewsV.I. Legislature

Mapp Thanks Legislature For Rubber Stamping His Seven Nominees In Senate Today

CHARLOTTE AMALIE — Governor Kenneth Mapp thanked members of the 32nd Legislature for their support and congratulated all nominees confirmed during today’s Legislative Session.

“I appreciate the Legislature’s action on these important nominations so that those appointed can move forward with confidence,” Mapp said. “The Department of Public Works, the Virgin Islands Water and Power Authority Board and the Office of Management and Budget, in particular, have a great deal of responsibility given our ongoing recovery process. I wish those confirmed much success as they carry out their duties on behalf of the people of the Virgin Islands.”

Those confirmed Wednesday include:
  • Nelson Petty, Jr. received unanimous support to lead the Department of Public Works. Commissioner Petty said he looks forward to focusing on significant capital projects and improving the quality of roads throughout the territory.
  • Julio Rhymer, Sr. is now officially at the helm as Director of the Office of Management and Budget (OMB). Prior to being appointed to OMB, Rhymer served as Chief Operating Officer of the Virgin Islands Water and Power Authority.
  • Stacey A. Bourne, a well-known St. Thomas architect and entrepreneur, was confirmed as a member of the Virgin Islands Casino Control Commission for the St. Thomas/St. John District.
  • Hubert Turnbull, who manages a 40-year-old business on St. Thomas, TMT Sand Company, was unanimously reconfirmed for a second term on the Virgin Islands Water and Power Authority Board for the St. Thomas/St. John District.
  • Elizabeth Armstrong was also reconfirmed to serve on the Virgin Islands Water and Power Authority Board, where she represents the St. Croix District and currently serves as the Board’s Chairwoman. She is the owner of the Buccaneer Hotel.
  • John A. Quelch was confirmed to serve his first term on the University of the Virgin Islands Board of Trustees. He is presently the Dean of the School of Business Administration and Vice Provost for Executive Education at the University of Miami.
  • Dina Perry-Malone was unanimously approved by the senators to serve her first term on the Virgin Islands Housing Authority Board for the District of St. Thomas/St. John, completing the term for the late George Blackhall. She is a vice president and marketing manager at FirstBank and said she hopes to concentrate on assisting local residents become established homeowners.
Previous post

Health Department Offers Training For School Nurses In What Diseases They Must Report

Next post

WAPA Pats Itself on Back For Outing Fire Near Substation That Left St. John Without Power For 24 Hours

The Author

John McCarthy

John McCarthy

John McCarthy has been reporting on the U.S. Virgin Islands and the Caribbean region since 1989. John's articles have appeared in the BVI Beacon, St. Croix Avis, San Juan Star and Virgin Islands Daily News. He is originally from Detroit, Michigan.

No Comment

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *