At VIFreepBreaking NewsBusiness NewsCaribbean NewsHealth NewsInternational NewsPolice News

Travelers To UK From 3 Caribbean Islands Must Self-Isolate, Transport Secretary Says

KRALENDIJK — Three Caribbean islands and two European countries have been removed from the British Government’s list of COVID-19 safe places to come from.

Bonaire, St Eustatius and Saba are the three Caribbean islands to have been removed from the safe travel corridor list, UK Secretary of State for Transport Grant Shapps said.

“The latest data indicates we need to remove Turkey, Poland, and Bonaire, St. Eustatius and Saba from the #TravelCorridor list this week,” Shapps said in a tweet. “This means if you arrive from these destinations from 4 a.m. Saturday October 3, you will need to self-isolate.”

He also added that the penalties for people who refuse to self-isolate are to be increased to a maximum of £10,000 ($12,741.87) for repeat offenders.

This means travelers arriving to the UK from those places after 4 a.m. on Saturday must self-isolate for 14 days, Shapps said.

Poland reported 25.9 new cases per 100,000 people, increasing from 15.6 in the week prior.

It comes after Shapps said passengers returning from Denmark, Iceland, Slovakia and Curacao would have to self-isolate on their return.

At the time, Denmark was recording a seven-day rate of 65.2 coronavirus cases per 100,000 people, up from 33.8 a week earlier.

Iceland and Slovakia had rates of 80.4 and 25.9 respectively, while Curacao was at 66.7.

Previous post

DPW Says Public Will Start Seeing Directional Signs Again Soon In The USVI

Next post

Fire Service To Lift Burn Ban In The Territory On Monday, Government House Says

The Author

VI Free Press

VI Free Press

No Comment

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *